Housing | Tangipahoa Parish Government

Housing Authority

Hours of Operation:


8:00 am - 4:00 pm | Monday-Friday

Office: 985-748-8474 | Fax: 985-748-6309
111 North Bay Street, Suite B | Amite, LA 70422

Our Agency assists about 700 households through the federal rental housing assistance program, Housing Choice Vouchers (also known as Section 8). We also assist families through the Emergency Shelter Grant (ESGP) and Rapid Re-Housing (CDBG) Programs. The majority of our program funding comes from the U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Our programs are targeted to assist low, very low, and extremely low-income households. The vast majority of our client households are extremely low-income families, seniors, veterans, persons with disabilities, and formerly homeless. Working together with landlords, housing developers, charities, and local governments, we strive to provide housing and supportive services to as many eligible families as possible.

Mission Statement:

The PHA’s mission is to provide safe, decent, and sanitary housing conditions for very low-income families and to manage resources efficiently. The PHA is to promote personal, economic and social upward mobility to provide families the opportunity to make the transition from subsidized to non-subsidized housing.

Personnel:

Tonya Mabry
Executive Director
tmabry@tangipahoa.org

Joyce Jackson Davis
Administrative Clerk
jdavis@tangiaphoa.org

Joyce Richardson-Foster
Housing Clerk
jfoster@tangipahoa.org

Patricia Ricks
Housing Specialist
pricks@tangipahoa.org

Dorothy Showers
Emergency Shelter Grant (ESG) Coordinator
dshowers@tangipahoa.org

Shlondon Doughty
Rapid Re-Housing (RRH) Coordinator
sdoughty@tangipahoa.org